Skip to content
More +

The Outlaws Scarlett & Browne by Jonathan Stroud

by Sophie Green

The Outlaws Scarlett & Browne by Jonathan Stroud

The first in a new series for younger teens from the author of the brilliant Bartimaeus Sequence and the Lockwood & Co books.

Set in a broken, future England, where gunfights and monsters collide, this is the exciting first title in a phenomenal fantasy teen series by the bestselling children's novelist. England has been radically changed by a series of catastrophes - large cities have disappeared and London has been replaced by a lagoon. The surviving population exists in fortified towns where they cling to traditional ways, while strangely evolved beasts prowl the wilderness beyond. Conformity is rigidly enforced and those who fall foul of the rules are persecuted: some are killed, others are driven out into the wilds. Only a few fight back - and two of these outlaws, Scarlett McCain and Albert Browne, display an audacity and talent that makes them legends.

Children's librarian Sophie Green says:

The Outlaws Scarlett & Browne is a thrilling, terrifying and endearingly funny adventure seasoned with grit from the Old West.

Borrow this title →