Skip to content
More +

​Suffolk Libraries jointly awarded Exceptional Contribution Award

Suffolk Libraries and Norfolk Libraries & Information Services have jointly won the Exceptional Contribution Award at this year’s East Anglian Book Awards.

The award recognises those who have made an outstanding impact on the literary culture of the region. Previous winners have included the poet and critic Ronald Blythe, publisher Peter Stibbons, and Marilyn Brocklehurst of the Norfolk Children's Book Centre.

The award was presented for ‘libraries fantastic work in supporting so many people during this difficult year, whether through lending books and other media to keep people informed, entertained and hopeful, or the countless other key services the two library services provide.’

Bruce Leeke, Chief Executive of Suffolk Libraries said:

“We’re thrilled to receive this award together with Norfolk’s library service. It reflects the amazing contribution of our staff over the past eight months in these most challenging of times. It’s been widely recognised that our work has made a real difference in supporting wellbeing by ensuring people could still access books, information and online content. Libraries have now been classed as an essential service during the second lockdown and this award furthers reinforces how vital they are to making life better across communities.”

The Awards were announced in an online event on Thursday 19 November. You can view a clip of the presentation including a discussion between Peggy Hughes, Programme Director from the National Centre for Writing together with Bruce Leeke and Sarah Hassan from Norfolk Libraries and Information Service.

The Book of the Year Award went to The House of One Hundred Clocks by A.M. Howell. The East Anglian Book Awards is a partnership between Jarrold, the Eastern Daily Press, and the National Centre for Writing with support from UEA Faculty of Arts & Humanities. You can find out more about the other awards and winners on the National Centre for Writing website.