HomeNews → Halesworth librarian launches her own book!

Halesworth librarian launches her own book!

Written by · Published Jun 3, 2016

Francesca Armour-Chelu with her new novel, Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero

Suffolk Libraries has helped a member of staff to launch her own book this week.

Francesca Armour-Chelu held the launch of her new children’s novel Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero at Halesworth Library where she also works as a Library and Information Advisor.

The book was published by Walker Books on Thursday 2 June with the launch event taking place on the same day at Halesworth Library from 6pm to 8pm. The book is the first in a chilling adventure series about a sinking world – which was inspired by the Suffolk countryside. It will of course soon be available to borrow from the library too!

Fenn Halflin and the Fearzero is perfect for readers of Percy Jackson and Artemis Fowl:

In a world that has been ravaged by flooding, Fenn Halflin learns the truth about his past – a secret that forces him to flee the safety of his home as he is chased across the vast sea by the ruthless Terra Firma and their cold-blooded leader, Chilstone. Finding shelter on a decaying island, Fenn is taken in by child survivors in hiding, and he begins a deadly game of cat-and-mouse with the Terra Firma, who will stop at nothing to find him. But as Chilstone’s dreaded Fearzero ship appears on the horizon, and the water levels continue to rise, it seems that Fenn’s hopes of escape will be washed away for ever.

Francesca grew up by the Suffolk Coast. She studied English and Drama at Goldsmiths and went on to work in museum education and public libraries. Her experience of living on water meadows in an abandoned Edwardian railway carriage inspired her novel which was also shortlisted for the Mslexia Children’s Novel Competition in 2012.