HomeNew suggestionsYoung adult → New Young Adult books for October 2017

New Young Adult books for October 2017

Written by · Published Sep 28, 2017

The Book of Dust volume 1: la belle sauvage, All The Crooked Saints, Satellite

The Book of Dust volume 1: La Belle Sauvage, by Philip Pullman

Probably the most eagerly awaited book of the autumn, this is the prequel to Pullman’s hugely successful Northern Lights and promises a return to the world of Lyra Belacqua, daemons and dust.

Turtles All the Way Down, by John Green

From the author of The Fault in Our Stars:

“It all begins with a fugitive billionaire and the promise of a cash reward. Turtles All the Way Down is about lifelong friendship, the intimacy of an unexpected reunion, Star Wars fan fiction, and tuatara.

“But at its heart is Aza Holmes, a young woman navigating daily existence within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts. In his long-awaited return, John Green shares Aza’s story with shattering, unflinching clarity.”

A Shiver of Snow and Sky, by Lisa Lueddecke

“The sky speaks on the frozen island of Skane. Beautiful lights appear and their colours have meaning: Green means all is well, blue means a snowstorm is coming. And then there’s red: Rare. A warning. When the sky last shone red, a terrible plague came to the island - this time around, can our heroine Osa prevent so many lives being lost again?”

The first instalment in this debut fantasy series is already getting rave reviews.

All the Crooked Saints, by Maggie Stiefvater

Another tale steeped in mystery from the author of The Raven King:

“Any visitor to Bicho Raro, Colorado is likely to find a landscape of dark saints, forbidden love, scientific dreams, miracle-mad owls, estranged affections, one or two orphans, and a sky full of watchful desert stars. At the heart of this place you will find the Soria family, who all have the ability to perform unusual miracles. And at the heart of this family are three cousins longing to change its future: Beatriz, the girl without feelings, who wants only to be free to examine her thoughts; Daniel, the Saint of Bicho Raro, who performs miracles for everyone but himself; and Joaquin, who spends his nights running a renegade radio station under the name Diablo Diablo.

“They are all looking for a miracle. But the miracles of Bicho Raro are never quite what you expect.”

The Dollmaker of Krakow, by R. M. Romero

“One night a little doll named Karolina comes to life in a toyshop in Krakow, Poland, in 1939, and changes the life of the gruff, broken-hearted Dollmaker. And when the darkness of the Nazi occupation sweeps over the city Karolina and the Dollmaker must bravely use their magic to save their Jewish friends from a terrible danger, no matter what the risks.”

“In the vein of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Number the Stars, this fusion of fairytales, folklore and World War II history eloquently illustrates the power of love and the inherent will to survive even in the darkest of times.”

Crash Landing, by Robert Muchamore

Book four of the Rock War series, which follows three aspiring young musicians as they appear on a reality TV show:

“Jay, Summer, and Dylan are fresh out of the biggest reality show there is. But they’re about to discover what fame and fortune are really about. Jay’s brother Theo is young, rich and famous: but is it making him happy? Summer’s got to weather her one-star reviews and take her career back into her own hands. And Dylan might soon be seeing the world of show-business from the four walls of a prison cell. They’ve got everything to play for.”

Satellite, by Nick Lake

“Leo has never set foot on Earth. Born and raised with twins Orion and Libra on the Moon 2 Space Station, they have grown up together in the most extraordinary of ways. Now, they are preparing to make their first trip home - their first journey to Earth. But Leo, Orion and Libra cannot possibly imagine the irreversible consequences that their return will set into motion.”

This sci-fi adventure has been described as ‘an epic, highly original space thriller with real science and heartbreaking beauty’.

It Only Happens in the Movies, by Holly Bourne

From the author of Am I Normal Yet?:

“Audrey is over romance. Since her parents’ relationship imploded her mother’s been catatonic, so she takes a cinema job to get out of the house. But there she meets wannabe film-maker Harry. Nobody expects Audrey and Harry to fall in love as hard and fast as they do. But that doesn’t mean things are easy. Because real love isn’t like the movies.”

My Side of the Diamond, by Sally Gardner & Nat Barlex

“Jazmin has been shunned ever since her best friend Becky disappeared. But Becky didn’t just disappear - she jumped off a tall building and seemingly never reached the ground. It was as if she simply vanished into thin air. Did Jazmin have something to do with her disappearance? Or was it more to do with Icarus, so beguiling and strangely ever youthful, with whom Becky became suddenly besotted?”

Another extraordinary tale from a Costa and Carnegie award winning novelist.

The Treatment, by C. L. Taylor

“All 16-year-old Drew Finch wants is to be left alone. She’s not interested in spending time with her mum and stepdad, and when her disruptive little brother, Mason, is expelled from school for the third time and sent to a residential reform academy she’s almost relieved.

“Everything changes when she’s followed home from school by the mysterious Dr Cobey, who claims to have a message from Mason. There is something sinister about the ‘treatment’ he is undergoing. The school is changing people. Determined to help her brother, Drew must infiltrate the academy and unearth its deepest, darkest secrets before it’s too late.”

Sophie Green

Sophie Green

I work for the Suffolk Libraries stock team. I also write children’s fiction, short stories and comedy. Visit my website.