HomeNew suggestionsYoung adult → New Young Adult books for July 2018

New Young Adult books for July 2018

Written by · Published Jun 29, 2018

Flight, Payback, Mud

Floored: when seven lives collide, by Sara Barnard (ed.)

Seven top UKYA authors write seven narrators in this collaboration.

Night Flights, by Philip Reeve

Three short stories set in the Mortal Engines universe.

“In a dangerous future world where gigantic, motorised cities attack and devour each other, London hunts where no other predator dares. But Anna Fang - pilot, adventurer, spy - isn’t afraid. These three stories show gripping, moving, exciting moments in Anna’s life: her childhood as a slave aboard the moving city Arkangel, a showdown against a robotic Stalker that is terrifyingly out-of-control and her free life as an intelligence agent for the Anti-Traction league that might not be quite as free as she hoped.”

Everything All At Once, by Steven Camden

“Zooming in across our cast of characters, we share moments that span everything from hoping to make it to the end of the week, facing it, fitting in, finding friends and falling out, to loving lessons, losing it, and worrying, wearing it well and worshipping from afar. Steven Camden’s poems speak to the kaleidoscope of teen experience and life at ‘big school’.”

Payback, by M. A. Griffin

From the author of Lifers.

“Payback has one mission: to steal from the rich and give to the poor. Its dramatic heists create a sensation. When Payback fan Tom is recruited, he accidentally brings with him a shady money man - who’s not the only one on their tail. As the net closes in, the teenagers of Payback fight to stay alive. Being Robin Hood has never been this hard!”

A Sky Painted Gold, by Laura Wood

“Growing up in her sleepy Cornish village dreaming of being a writer, 16-year-old Lou has always wondered about the grand Cardew house which has stood empty for years. And when the owners arrive for the summer - a handsome, dashing brother and sister - Lou is quite swept off her feet and into a world of moonlit cocktail parties and glamour beyond her wildest dreams. But, as she grows closer to the Cardews, is she abandoning her own ambitions - and is there something darker lurking at the heart of the Cardew family?”

“Evokes a Gatsby-esque glamour with echoes of coming-of-age stories like I Capture the Castle” - The Bookseller

Flight, by Vanessa Harbour

“1944 Austria. A Nazi officer is tipped off that a Spanish Riding School is sheltering a Jewish boy at their stables. Jakob hides successfully but has to watch the officer shoot one of his beloved Lipizzaner horses just for spite.

“Jakob and his guardian know they must get all the other horses away, but is it possible to get them all over the mountains to safety?”

All These Beautiful Strangers, by Elizabeth Klehfoth

“Charlie Calloway has a life most people would kill for - a tight-knit family, a loyal set of friends, and top grades at a privileged boarding school. But Charlie’s never been interested in what most people want. Like all Calloways, she’s been taught that she’s different, special - better.

“So when her school’s super-exclusive secret society extends a mysterious invitation, Charlie’s determination to get in is matched only by her conviction that she belongs there. But their secrets go deeper than she knows.”

AWOL: Agent Without Licence, by Andrew Lane

“Kieron and his friend Sam are shocked to see a man kidnapped in a Newcastle shopping centre right in front of their eyes. The boys quickly realise that the kidnapped man left something behind in the scuffle - an earpiece and glasses. Kieron puts them on and realises he can see not what is front of him, but a busy, tourist city, somewhere very hot - in Mumbai.

“Kieron has accidentally stumbled upon the undercover world of Rebecca ‘Bex’ Wilson - a freelance agent working for the British Secret Intelligence Service. And without her handler Bradley (the man who was kidnapped), Bex is in trouble. She doesn’t know who of her usual contacts she can trust, and like it or not, she is going to have to use teenage Kieron to get her out of danger. Before Kieron and Sam know it, they are part of a mission to stop a weapon of mass destruction from falling into the wrong hands.”

High octane action and adventure from the author of the Young Sherlock Holmes series. This should appeal to fans of James Bond and Alex Rider.

The Truth About Lies, by Tracy Darnton

“Jess has an incredible memory. She can remember every single detail of every single day since she was eleven. Even the things she’d rather forget. But are all her memories real?”

Theatrical, by Maggie Harcourt

“Hope dreams of working backstage in a theatre, and she’s determined to make it without the help of her famous costume-designer mum. So when she lands an internship on a major production, she tells no one.

“But with a stroppy Hollywood star and his hot young understudy upstaging Hope’s focus, she’s soon struggling to keep her cool - and her secret.”

The Survival Game, by Nicky Singer

“Mhairi Anne Bain owns only two things: a gun with no bullets and her identity papers. The world is a shell of what it once was. Now, you must prove yourself worthy of existence at every turn, at every border checkpoint. And if you are going to survive, your instincts will become your most valuable weapon. Mhairi has learnt the importance of living her own story, of speaking to no one.

“But then she meets a young boy with no voice at all, and finds herself risking everything to take him to safety. And so Mhairi and the silent boy travel the road north. But there are rumours that things in Scotland have changed since she has been away. What Mhairi finds there is shocking and heart-breaking, but might finally reconnect her to her sense of self and to the possibility of love.”

Publisher Hodder, describes this as “a searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful. Tautly powerful and brilliant, this is a book of our times.”

Toxic, by Nicci Cloke

“Hope is on her way to Crete, after a group of her friends have made her an honorary ‘lad’ and let her tag along on their boys’ holiday. There’s a slight complication in that one of those boys, Logan, is Hope’s ex-boyfriend, but they’re still friends.

“The next couple of days are exactly what Hope was hoping for - lazy days in the sun, and drunken conversations. She can’t help but notice that Logan’s flirting with her. Logan and Hope end up alone and Hope is horrified when, after she leans in to kiss him, Logan completely rejects her. Embarrassed and annoyed, Hope is on a mission to get drunk, and with the alcohol flowing, Hope starts having a great time.

“The next thing Hope knows, she’s being woken up on the beach by two strangers. It’s 9am the next morning and she can’t remember anything about the previous night.”

Mud, by Emily Thomas

“It’s 1979, and 13-year-old Lydia has no idea how she’ll cope when her dad announces that the family has to sell up and move onto a Thames sailing barge in Essex. With his girlfriend. And her three kids. Between trying to keep her clothes dry in a leaky cabin, disastrous hair-dye attempts, awkward encounters with local boys, and coping with her suddenly enormous and troublesome family, Lydia fears she’ll sink rather than swim.”

Based on the author’s own teenage years.

Sophie Green

Sophie Green

I work for the Suffolk Libraries stock team. I also write children’s fiction, short stories and comedy. Visit my website.