HomeRecommendations & reviewsNon-fiction → New non-fiction for May 2015

New non-fiction for May 2015

Written by · Published May 1, 2015

The diet myth: the new science of the microbiome by T. D. Spector

Confessions of a Tinderella by Rosy Edwards

Confessions of a Tinderella by Rosy Edwards

Humorous experience of a twenty-something London girl on Tinder. She falls for the wrong guys, ditches the nice ones, but can she finally find her happy ending?

Dancing with the enemy: my family’s Holocaust secret by Paul Glaser

Dancing with the enemy: my family's Holocaust secret by Paul Glaser

The author pieces his aunt’s World War Two experiences, who survived Auschwitz by giving dance and etiquette lessons to the SS.

Have you been good?: a memoir by Vanessa Nicolson

Have you been good?: a memoir by Vanessa Nicolson

The granddaughter of Vita Sackville-West and the daughter of art historian Ben Nicolson, Vanessa Nicolson chronicles her reckless childhood, including her experience at a liberal boarding school.

The diet myth: the new science of the microbiome by T D Spector

The diet myth: the new science of the microbiome by T D Spector

Explores the hidden world of micro-organisms in our bodies, highlighting the misconceptions of fad diets.

My son’s not rainman by John Williams

My son's not rainman by John Williams

Told with upbeat good humour, William discusses the daily difficulties of being a single-parent to a boy with autism.

Picnic in Provence: a tale of love in France, with recipes by Elizabeth Bard

Picnic in Provence: a tale of love in France, with recipes by Elizabeth Bard

Part memoir, part cookbook. Author Elizabeth Bard moves with her French husband from Paris to the idyllic French countryside.

The Scum of the Earth by Colin Brown (eBook)

The Scum of the Earth by Colin Brown

Examines the experience of Regency soldiers returning from victory at Waterloo to a land not fit for heroes.

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty (eBook)

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes by Caitlin Doughty

Explores death rituals in various cultures. Doughty states the case for healthier attitudes around death and dying.

Through the Keyhole by Susan C Law (eBook)

Through the Keyhole by Susan C Law

Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, this book draws on a rich collection of original sources, bringing stories of scandalous infidelity in the English aristocracy to life.

Brandon King

I work in the Suffolk Libraries Stock Team