Skip to content
More +

Suffolk Libraries marks its fifth year at Annual General Meeting

We held our fourth AGM on 29 September which looked back at our fifth year of delivering the county’s library services and recognised the contribution of staff, community groups and volunteers.

The AGM includes a formal meeting but is also a chance to celebrate the achievements of everyone who helps to support the service. All of our 44 member groups are invited to send a representative to the meeting which was attended by just over 120 people.

Local author Nicola Upson was the guest speaker and gave a wonderful and insightful speech about her favourite books, and the important role of libraries.

Our Board also now has two new members after Sue Buck and Anne Mallalieu stepped down and Richard Bull from Woodbridge Library Friends and Maureen Garrett Simpson from Ipswich County Library Friends Group were formally appointed to the Board.

We also held our first Volunteer Awards, which were sponsored by East of England Co-operative. The winning volunteers were nominated for regularly going above and beyond the call of duty and for being hugely valuable to Suffolk Libraries. The winners were:

  • Community Groups Volunteer – Liz Ditton (Kesgrave)
  • Summer Reading Challenge Volunteer – Jacqueline Sharp (Haverhill)
  • Home Library Service Volunteer – Diana Barrett and Margaret Marshall (Felixstowe)
  • Young Volunteer – Josh Grimwood (Gainsborough)

Out of the four category winners a ‘Volunteer of the Year’ was chosen and the winners were Diana Barrett and Margaret Marshall.

We are very grateful to the following organisation who sponsored this year’s AGM: Birketts Solicitors, East of England Co-op, Suffolk Norse, Suffolk Food Hall, Ryan Insurance and Eclipse Office Furniture.

Read this year’s Annual Review.